Italian band Fleshgod Apocalypse masterfully merges symphonic and brutal death metal elements, creating an intense and impactful sound. Established in Rome in 2007, they released their debut album, Oracles, in 2009. The lineup, including Tommado Riccardi, Cristiano Trionfera, Paolo Rossi, Francesco Paoli, and later Francesco Ferrini, continued to develop their unique sound. Their second album, Agony (2011), and third album, Labyrinth (2013), received critical acclaim for their emergent symphonic death metal style.

In 2016, they released the album King. Subsequently, guitarist Cristiano Trionfera and vocalist Tommaso Riccardi left the band, and drummer Francesco Paoli assumed the role of lead vocalist. The band collaborated with Marco Mastrobuono and released Veleno (Italian for «venom») in 2019. The album featured a full orchestral string section and choir and was mixed and mastered by Jacob Hansen. After becoming the permanent lead vocalist, Paoli announced that Veleno would be the last Fleshgod Apocalypse record on which he’d play drums, passing the responsibility to live drummer David Folchitto.